Failing to Register as a Sex Offender is a serious crime in New Jersey and a violation of the “Megan’s Law.” In 1994, a seven year-old girl named Megan Kanka was raped and murdered by her neighbor in Hamilton Township, Mercer County. The murder attracted national attention and caused the New Jersey legislature to create the “Megan’s Law,” which requires the life-long registration of people convicted of sexual offenses, under N.J.S.A. 2C:7-2.
The law lists the offenses requiring registration, which includes aggravated sexual assault, sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual contact, criminal sexual contact if the victim is a minor, endangering the welfare of a child by engaging in sexual conduct, endangering the welfare of a child through acts involving pornography featuring a child, promoting prostitution of a child, luring or enticing, kidnapping, criminal restraint, and false imprisonment if the victim is a minor and the offender is not a parent of the victim. A conviction of one of these crimes will require the person register as a sex offender.
The sex offenders must fill out a registration form and submit it to a local police department. This registration will record personal information of the sex offender, including a home address and any employment.
Sex offenders are required to report every change of address. Sex offenders must notify the local police at least 10 days prior to the move. In addition, some sex offenders must verify their addresses every 90 days and others must verify their address annually.
Sex offenders convicted in another state are required to register within 10 days of moving to New Jersey. In addition, sex offenders convicted in another state are required to register even if they are just attending school or are employed in New Jersey.
Failure to register under Megan’s Law is a crime.
In order for the Prosecution to prove that you failed to register as a sex offender, they must prove beyond a reasonable doubt the following elements:
(1) You were required by law to register as a sex offender; and
(2) You knowingly failed to register as required.
Failure to register under Megan’s Law is a third degree criminal offense in New Jersey. Third degree offenses can result in between three to five years in New Jersey State Prison. You need help immediately if you are charged with failing to register.
Hiring an Experienced New Jersey Attorney for Failure to Register Charges
Attorney Douglas Herring is an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will help you fight your charge. Mr. Herring is a former prosecutor in State and Federal Court. He will review your case and work with you to determine a plan to give you the best defense possible. He will file motions for you in court and he will determine how to effectively argue your case to convince the prosecutor or the judge that the case is weak and the charges should be dismissed. In many situations, Mr. Herring can assist you with seeking treatment if you feel you have a drug problem.
Mr. Herring handles cases in New Jersey Courts, including Middlesex, Somerset, Mercer, Monmouth, and Hunterdon counties. Mr. Herring will go to court with you and assist in getting you released from custody and explaining to the judge why you should not be held in jail. He can also assist in having a bail bondsman in court to facilitate an immediate release from custody. When you learn there is a New Jersey case filed against you, please contact New Jersey criminal defense attorney Douglas Herring for a free consultation. You can call our office toll free at (844) NJ Accused (844-652-2287) or (609) 256-4098, (732) 339-3968, (908) 552-0828or reach us by completing the form on our contact page or by sending an e-mail. We are available every day of the year, 24 hours a day.
“Connect with Your Defense.”